Let’s Blog about Life

Some thoughts on a snowy Thursday…

The past week+, I have had almost zero desire to take photos.  The things I’ve been shooting have uninspired, at best.  On the flip side, I’ve been bonding with my guitars and mandolin…the mandolin has been particularly fun.  I’ve also spent some time writing in the past few days, which has felt refreshing and only a little bit forced.  I think the story I’m working on will be ok, but I’m rusty so it won’t exactly be THE GREATEST THING EVER.  I’m still going to force unsuspecting visitors to read it.

I’m listening to Florence + The Machine right now.  I’m going to see them open for U2 (the first of 3 U2 shows in what I am dubbing THE SUMMER OF U2!  Details to follow) at FedEx Field in Baltimore this summer, so that’s exciting.  I’ve also been digging the new Decemberists album.

I have a headache.

Diet Coke Lime is really good.  What happened to Diet Coke Lemon?  And on a related note, does anyone remember Crystal Pepsi?  Or Pepsi Kona?  I tried Coke Blak once and that was disgusting.

I think I’m going to dig out my old harmonicas soon and reacquaint myself with them. Maybe I’ll get one of those harmonica holders and play Bob Dylan songs.  I do a decent enough Dylan impression, so it could work.  Next year’s Halloween costume?  Possibly…possibly.

I’ve switched from Florence + The Machine to The Decemberists.

I’m very pleased with my weight loss program, and I think, if things go like they have been, I’m going to be VERY happy come Monday morning.  Did I just jinx myself?  No.  Case in point:  Roy Halladay threw a perfect game and a playoff no-hitter, and each time I did the unthinkable and, you know, publicly acknowledged it.  Funny thing is, he still threw a perfect game and a no hitter.  I learned that from Harry Kalas, who was never afraid to tell it like it was, even with 2 outs in the ninth inning.

Speaking of which…baseball can’t come soon enough.  I’m calling it now:  two parades; one for the Stanley Cup, one for the World Series.  Again, I don’t believe in jinxing.  Fate, do your worst.

My birthday is in 8 days.  Buy me stuff.

I’m going to go make hamburgers and watch 30 Rock.  You wish you were as awesome as me.

About Brian


Leave a Reply

