The Art of Writing…and art, too.

Back when I was in college, whenever I couldn’t sleep, or simply didn’t want to sleep, I would stay up and write stories.  Sometimes, I would draw weird little pictures with sharpie markers and white-out, which were largely influenced by the doodles found in Ani DiFranco’s album “Knuckledown.”  Once I got out of college and started, you know, real life, the writing and drawing activities slowly died out until I completely stopped doing either one of those things.

I still have the stories and drawings, of course, but I had never done anything with them, mainly because I think they’re awful and childish; I’ve learned in the past few years that I am overly critical of things I do, though I’m surprised, frankly, at my willingness to put my photography out there for the world to see.  I did once try to start a blog with my stories a few years ago, but I got a little embarrassed.  Plus, no one read it.  Literally, no one.  It’s not like there are a bazillion people reading this one, but I get a respectable amount of traffic here.

I started this blog in the hopes that one day I might rekindle my desire to write things through the act of writing posts and generally have a creative outlet.  I feel like I should do my best to honor that, so I’ve decided on the following two things:

1.  In the coming weeks or months, I will, slowly but surely, post all those old stories and pictures for the clamoring public (except for the ones I really think are awful).  I’ll do my best to talk about when it was written, what it’s about and how I got to writing it.  Maybe I’ll start tomorrow.

2.  I will write a new story by the end of February and post it here.

I’ve actually got a story idea brewing for the first time in a long time, so I’m pretty excited.  Let’s see how it goes.

About Brian


Leave a Reply

