My other New Year’s Resolution

So far (and we’re only, what, four days in?) my photographical resolutions have gone pretty well.  I’ve been taking more photos (albeit with my cell phone), I’ve been more willing to put forth work that I am usually hesitant to (the last 2 photos, particularly) and I’ve been contributing to the online communities when I can, which is usually at night before I go to sleep.  It’s a win so far.

My “other” resolution is the classic “lose weight” cliche.  This isn’t uncharted territory for me; I lost about 40-50 pounds in the summer of 2009 (I have no idea how much because I had been dieting for over a month before I started documenting things.  I had to have weighed, like, 250 at that point for all I know).  I know how to do it, I know what I need to do, it’s just a matter of execution.  And as such, part of my plan of execution is to make myself accountable in some way, and what better way than a completely public forum, even if it’s a kind of cobwebby and neglected area of public attention?

So here’s the deal:  I weighed in this morning at 210 pounds.  My goal weight is 180 pounds.  I’ll check in every Monday and update my status.  I’ve found in the past that documenting what I’m doing, and most importantly, my progress, is the key to being successful in any sort of plan such as this.  My plan to accomplish this goal is two-pronged:

1.  I will monitor my calorie intake using the “Lose It” application for iPhone.  I used this last time around and it was spectacular.  I’ve set up a new program and will be shooting for the 1700 calorie a day range.  This is not a hard-and-fast number; sometimes I’ll be a little under, sometimes a little over.  Typically I allow myself either Friday or Saturday for some indulgences.  For example, if I find myself at a Friday night Happy Hour I’m not going to deprive myself of beer.  It’s ok because there will be a day when I only eat 1300 calories and in my mind it evens itself out in the end.  Plus, it’s cruel to deprive yourself of beer when your friends are just inches away drinking their own beers, and I really like beer.  Maybe I’ll blog about beer one day…

2.  I will drink copious amounts of water.  I have one of those 32+ ounce Nalgene bottles.  I will drink 3-4 of them a day.  I tend to drink two of them at work (one in the morning, one in the afternoon), and at least one more at home, maybe two.  I’m also going to try to have some in the morning, before I leave for work.  I will supplement this with tea, as tea has flavor and can trick me into thinking I’m getting something a little more substantial.  Plus, it’s good for you and can help clear excess fluids and all that fun medical stuff.  Coffee too, and if I want a treat, I have a bunch of flavored coffees that have about 50 calories per mug.

So that’s it.  I plan on being really hungry the next few days, but that’s ok.  Look for check-ins every Monday (probably later in the day).  It’s going to be a fun, fun, fun time.

About Brian


Leave a Reply

