iPhonetography: Great Writers Project

I love to read.  In fact, you may not know that in my spare time (read: 9am-5pm, Monday through Friday, give or take some hourage), I teach literature to a variety of kids of a variety of ages, so long as they’re in Ninth Grade.

For a while now I’ve been looking for a way to combine these two interests of mine.  I began a photographic project linking W.H. Auden’s “Funeral Blues” to U2’s “Ultraviolet (Light My Way),” and while I haven’t given up on it, it’s pretty much a dead end.

As I mentioned a few days ago (or maybe a week or two ago) I wrote about the Salvador Dali film pack in the Hipstamatic app.  The film emulation itself has a canvas texture and interesting coloring; it suddenly came to me that it would make a nice backdrop for words.  So, I began finding poems and novels that I liked, or were well-known, or just particularly good, and photographed them with that canvas Dali-backgrounded film application.  I even threw Auden in there for good measure.

I’m really happy with how it came out, and it was nice to have a project to work on, no matter how small a thing it was.  By the way, there’s a previously posted outtake here.

About Brian


Leave a Reply

