Great Photos: “Wall Street” by Paul Strand

1915.

From Wikipedia:  “Paul Strand (October 16, 1890 – March 31, 1976) was an American photographer and filmmaker who, along with fellow modernist photographers like Alfred Stieglitz and Edward Weston, helped establish photography as an art form in the 20th century. His diverse body of work, spanning six decades, covers numerous genres and subjects throughout the Americas, Europe and Africa.”

This is an enormously influential photograph for me for two reasons.  I’ve long been interested in the role of geometric shapes in art and photography since I first started playing around with a camera for reasons other than taking photos at family functions.  Furthermore, I try to achieve simplistic compositions to create black and white images that are bold and stark and strongly toned (though I often fail miserably, in my own estimation).  This is as aesthetic common thread through most of my photos, though there are notable exceptions.

Though I feel I’m progressing in my quest for the perfect photograph, my recycle bin has processed thousands of rejects from my attempts to capture my own version of “Wall Street;” perhaps one day I will.

About Brian


Leave a Reply

