It occurs to me that I am America.

It occurred to me this morning that while this thing is called a “blog,” and subsequently that the inherent nature of a “blog” is to write, I rarely do.  I mostly post photos, strange things I find laying around the interwebs, and the occasional stupid rant.  And a ton of Star Wars stuff.  I imagine part of it is because I’m still trying to figure out exactly what this blog is all about, but another part of it is that I often don’t really have anything to say.  The reality of it is probably that those two things are intertwined…I don’t know what to say because I don’t really know the true focus of Ridiculosity.  I look at this blog like a living thing and my hope is that one day it will naturally evolve into something more interesting…maybe it already has and I simply haven’t been made aware yet.  Who knows.

Now for something more substantive.  Over Thanksgiving break I took a trip downtown and walked around with my camera.  I like to do this whenever I can as it gives me a chance to work on things and try to create something interesting.  I usually have something I’m trying to work on; this time I was determined to focus on composition rather than my typical “shoot from the hip” style.  Overall, it worked out well for me.  Also, I wanted to present the images in a different way.  I tend to process my images for detail and sharpness, and they’re usually pretty high-contrast, but this time around I’ve been focusing on making the photos softer and less-sharp (very technical, I know).  These two photographs below are my favorites from the day and a perfect example of what I was trying to do.  They may not be my best photos, but I’m pleased with them because I was able to make them look much like what I saw in my head.  These were taken at Franklin Court and Penn’s Landing, respectively.

About Brian


One response to “It occurs to me that I am America.

  • Cipher

    I think you have the right idea with your blog. Post what interests you and what you want to share – let the thing evolve into whatever it’s going to be. That’s what I am doing with mine.

    I like the photos – good composition and overall effect. Keep on shooting!

Leave a Reply

