Another new U2 song…

This one’s called “Every Breaking Wave,” a slow one in the vein of “North Star” and other slow, melodic U2 thangs.  I get a little “Kite” vibe in terms of the song’s complexity and such.  I don’t know what the “such” really stands for, I’m just going with my gut on it.

Overall, I don’t think it’s a bad song, but I’m a little disappointed.  Of the four new songs that have popped up (one of them being the instrumental introduction, “Return of the Stingray, which will be posted below as well), only one of them has been really rock-y, and that’s what I’ve been hoping to see U2 do.  Granted, “Stingray” has got some good rock to it, but those bubbly keyboard lines in the background are a little difficult to digest.  They’re a rock band, after all, and while the melodically ambitious songs are interesting and enjoyable overall, I want to hear some good U2 rock songs, along the lines of Vertigo, Elevation, I Will Follow, Out of Control, The Electric Co., or even Glastonbury.  After all, U2 has some definite punk rock roots and they’d do well to explore them again.  In rough terms, I would love to hear what would happen if Boy and No Line on the Horizon were to mashed up into some sort of musical love-child.

Of course, you should take this all with a grain of salt, because if Bono and Company were to release an album of 8-bit nursery rhyme covers, I’d buy it and rave about how brilliant it is.

Now, Bono has claimed that U2 will have a new album out within the next few months.  So I will hold a true analysis until I can hear a nice, clean, polished recording of these songs and not some crappy bootleg-quality camcorder audio, where most of the nuance is lost between the PA system and the awful microphones of a drunk fan’s camera phone.  But that said, U2’s future is certainly promising and I can only hope my few minor objections are just an overreaction on my part.

July can’t come soon enough.

About Brian


Leave a Reply

