Weird Fishes/Star Wars Debauchery

I had this weird dream last night.  I was hanging in a room, maybe playing poker, with a bunch of guys who might have been Jedi.  They had lightsabers, I think.  One of them sensed some sort of disturbance.  Then, in one of the weirdest things I’ve ever dreamt, Keanu Reeves emerged from the ocean (I know, where did the ocean come from?) and attacked us.  There was a battle, and next thing I knew I was in a bathtub taking a shower.

I do believe that dreams can be influenced by whatever it is that’s on your mind on any given day, so this does make a little sense.  I am a Star Wars nerd; in fact, I’ve been making a point to read some of the Star Wars comic books and immerse myself in the whole “expanded universe” concept.  That accounts for the Jedi portion.  For the rest, I can only assume Keanu Reeves is some sort of powerful dream-ninja and he hijacked his way into my brain to prove some point about something or other. He’s a crazy little wooden man.

Speaking of Star Wars, I’ve really been nerding out on it lately.  Between Star Wars video games, comic books and the toy lightsaber in my closet (not to mention the lightsaber app on my iPhone), I’ve been teetering dangerously close to the edge of fatal geekdom.  Part of me knows this and is trying to stop it from happening, and the other part of me doesn’t care. If I had an argument with myself over it, I think it would go something like this:

Brian 1:  We were in the nick of time, you were in great peril!

Brian 2:  I don’t think I was.

Brian 1: You were, Sir Galahad, you were in terrible peril!

Brian 2: Look, let me go back in there and face the peril!

Brian 1: No!  It’s much to perilous.

Brian 2: Look, it’s my duty as a knight to sample as much peril as I can.

Brian 1: No, we’ve got to find the Holy Grail. Come on.

Brian 2: Oh, let me have just a little bit of peril?

Brian 1: No, it’s unhealthy.

Brian 2: I bet you’re gay!

Brian 1: Am not!

About Brian


Leave a Reply

